- Tax Collector
The Tax Collector’s office is responsible for the billing and collection of property taxes and sewer fees. In addition to that primary function, the office also maintains tax records and provides tax information to the public, and assists eligible residents in applying for property tax relief programs offered by the state.
Tax Payment Due Dates
Property taxes are due quarterly on the first of February, May, August, and November. Each due date allows for a 10 (calendar) day grace period, making the 10th day of February, May, August, and November the last day to pay without interest. When the 10th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the last day of the grace period is extended to the following business day.
Sewer fees are due annually on April 1, with the same ten calendar day grace period as each of the property tax due dates.
Interest & Penalties
Interest is charged, as per state statute, on delinquent taxes and sewer fees as follows: 8% on the first $1500, and 18% interest is charged on everything over $1500, retroactive to the due date. A fee of $20 will be charged for a returned check.
After-Hours Drop Boxes
There are two drop boxes marked for property tax/sewer fee payments located at the municipal building:
- Through the first set of doors in the Police Station
- In the rear parking lot, next to the United States Postal Service (USPS) mailbox
Please do not leave cash in the drop boxes; cash payments (in exact change) are only accepted during regular office hours. Payments left in the drop boxes after 4:30 PM will be processed the next business day and credited as such.
Online Payment Available
Payment may be made online at westfieldnj.gov/paymytaxes.
Please do not postdate your check: Postdated checks will be processed and deposited on the same day of receipt. We are not liable for any fees you may incur from your bank for a postdated check that is returned, as we are required to deposit all payments within 48 hours and therefore cannot hold postdated checks.
New owners should contact the tax collector's office for a tax bill upon taking ownership of the property. Please be advised that NJSA 54:4-64 provides that "The validity of any tax or assessment, or the time at which it shall be payable, shall not be affected by the failure of a taxpayer to receive a tax bill, but every taxpayer is put on notice to ascertain from the proper official of the taxing district the amount which may be due for taxes or assessments against him or his property."
New Jersey Property Tax Rebate Programs
The State of New Jersey currently has three property tax relief programs offered throughout the state. Please also visit the Division of Taxation's Property Tax Relief Program web page.
Property Tax Deduction
- Qualified Senior Citizen, Surviving Spouse, and Disabled persons may be eligible for $250 off of property taxes. Please contact the Tax Assessor's office 908-789-4055) to file.
- Qualified Veteran and Veteran widows may be eligible for $250 off of property taxes. Please contact the Tax Assessor's office 908-789-4055) to file.
Property Tax Reimbursement (PTR) (Senior Freeze)
- 2021 PTR-1 applications for first-time filers are available in our office or available for download. If you applied for and received the PTR last year, you should receive a PTR-2 application in the mail. For inquiries regarding the status of your 2020 PTR, please call 1-800-882-6597.
- 2020 PTR checks were mailed out beginning July 15, 2021.
- The deadline for 2021 PTR applications is October 31, 2022.
- 2018 Homestead Benefit credits have been applied to 2022 second quarter taxes. Adjusted bills will be mailed out in April.