Westfield Police Department

425 East Broad Street
Westfield, NJ 07090

Emergency: 911
Non-Emergency: 908-789-4000
Firearms Unit: 908-789-6054

Firearm Permits and Registration

The Westfield Police Department Firearms Unit assists residents with the application, processing and
registration of firearms. The Firearms Unit can be reached at 908-789-6054 or via email at
firearms@wpdnj.org.

The firearm application process is now electronic. Please follow the below instructions for the Firearm
Reporting System (FARS).

FARS Application Procedures for Applicants:

** First time applicants can contact the Firearms Unit at 908-789-6054 for additional information and
assistance regarding the process **

Step 1: Visitthe website. You MUST enter the site address as follows: www.njportal.com/njsp/fars

Step 2: When you log on, you must enter the Westfield Police Department ORI# NJ0202000

Step 3: Complete the online application. You must complete the application using a smartphone, mobile
device, laptop, or desktop computer.

When deciding how many permits you would like to obtain, remember:
a) One (1) permit is required for each handgun you are going to purchase (each permit is $2)
b) Per NJ State law, you can only purchase one (1) handgun in a 30 day period
c) Permits are good for up to 180 days (with renewal after 90 days)
d) If you decide you want another handgun permit, and you did not get more than one initially,
you will need to apply again.

* First time applicants, proceed to step 4. If you already have a firearms ID card, skip to step 5. *



Step 4: Make an appointment with IdentoGO for your fingerprints. Please note the following:

e You will be asked for a Universal Fingerprint Form. This form is included in the email
confirmation you receive from the State of NJ. Please print this form and bring it with you to
your appointment.

e After fingerprinting, IdentoGO may advise you to return to police HQ with the confirmation
paperwork and receipt. This is not needed as we receive the information electronically.

Step 5: You will need to submit payment at the Westfield police Department for your permits and if
applicable, the Firearm ID Card. Permits to purchase handguns are $2 for each permit, and S5
for the Firearms ID card. Payment is not required until the ID card and/or permits are ready.

e You will be receiving automated email updates throughout the process.

e Please advise your references that the FARS system will email them the reference questions
to be answered. Your references can complete the questions using a smartphone, mobile
device, laptop, or desktop computer. Please advise them to complete the questions
immediately to allow us to continue with your background investigation.

e This online application is applicant driven. Please ensure that you have entered the best
phone numbers for yourself and references as well as the best email addresses for yourself
and references.

** THE SYSTEM WILL NOTIFY YOU THAT YOUR ID CARD AND/OR PERMIT(S) ARE READY, BUT THE
PAPERWORK MAY STILL BE IN THE FIREARMS UNIT OFFICE FOR PREPARATION FOR THE CHIEF'S
SIGNATURE. PLEASE WAIT FOR NOTIFICATION FROM FIREARMS UNIT BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO GO TO
THE POLICE DEPARTMENT TO PICK UP YOUR IS CARD AND OR PERMIT(S). THEY CAN BE PICKED UP
MONDAY THRU FRIDAY, 8:30 UNTIL 4:30. (EXCEPT FEDERAL HOLIDAYS) **

Additional Firearms Forms and information
e State of New Jersey Voluntary Form of Firearms registration (SP650)
e State of New Jersey Certification of Eligibility

The New Jersey State Police website provides information on the New Jersey firearms laws, transportation
of firearms, and frequently asked questions. The site can be found by following this link:
www.njsp.org/firearms

The United States Bureau of Alcohol, tobacco, and Explosives provides additional information on Federal
Firearms and explosive laws via the following link: www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers
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